York City - Striker ready for challenge
UK time is: 15:29:12
Vital Login
Social Login

Choose your club

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Football, It's Vital'

Striker ready for challenge

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Former York City striker Clayton Donaldson is ready to make the step-up after joining Championship side Birmingham City.

"It's come at a later stage than I would have liked but I feel I am ready" - Clayton Donaldson
The 30-year-old arrives at St Andrew's from newly-promoted Brentford in a deal running until the summer of 2016. He scored eighteen goals in 48 appearances for the Bees last season having been similarly prolific during earlier spells with both York and Crewe Alexandra.

"I am ready to make the step up," Donaldson told the Birmingham Mail. "I have been waiting for this for so long. It's come at a later stage than I would have liked but I feel I am ready and have matured now as a player.

"I have gone through all the leagues and matured as such," he added. "I feel like I am ready, it's a good test for me and one I am looking forward to."

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate




Use your social login to comment on front page articles. Login using you Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts and have your say!



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

The journalist

Writer: Vital York Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday June 26 2014

Time: 10:49AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent York City Articles

Cresswell takes on more duty (Friday May 22 2015)

Wembley hero flying again (Friday May 22 2015)

Wilcox delighted with new arrivals (Thursday May 21 2015)

Fans pay tribute to Daniel Parslow (Thursday May 21 2015)

York appoint Schofield (Thursday May 21 2015)

York release stalwart Parslow (Thursday May 21 2015)

City linked to Blades keeper (Thursday May 21 2015)

Former striker leaves Boro (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Mills swoops for ex-York winger (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Wilcox delighted to net striker (Wednesday May 20 2015)

Archived York City Articles

List All Minstermen.net Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

League Results (view all)

Latest Results
Portsmouth 1 - 1 York
York 0 - 2 Newport
Shrewsbury 1 - 0 York
York 2 - 1 Morecambe
York 1 - 0 Hartlepool
Oxford 0 - 0 York

League Table (view table)

Team P W D L GD Pts
15. Wimbledon 46 14 16 16 -6 58
16. Portsmouth 46 14 15 17 -2 57
17. Accrington 46 15 11 20 -19 56
18. York 46 11 19 16 -5 52
19. Cambridge 46 13 12 21 -5 51
20. Carlisle 46 14 8 24 -18 50
21. Mansfield 46 13 9 24 -24 48

Breaking League News

Cresswell takes on more duty
York : 22/05/2015 15:20:01
Cook completes his back room staff
Portsmouth : 22/05/2015 13:24:00
Wembley hero flying again
York : 22/05/2015 12:43:00
Holloway extends contract at Wycome
Wycombe : 22/05/2015 09:18:01
Argyle Away Attendance
Plymouth : 22/05/2015 08:35:00

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

What's your end of year grading for Russ Wilcox?
Suggested By:  Vital York City
A 2%
B 16%
C 55%
D 22%
E 0%
U 5%