Vital Football

Latest York City News

Striker ready for challenge

Striker ready for challenge

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Former York City striker Clayton Donaldson is ready to make the step-up after joining Championship side Birmingham City.

"It's come at a later stage than I would have liked but I feel I am ready" - Clayton Donaldson
The 30-year-old arrives at St Andrew's from newly-promoted Brentford in a deal running until the summer of 2016. He scored eighteen goals in 48 appearances for the Bees last season having been similarly prolific during earlier spells with both York and Crewe Alexandra.

"I am ready to make the step up," Donaldson told the Birmingham Mail. "I have been waiting for this for so long. It's come at a later stage than I would have liked but I feel I am ready and have matured now as a player.

"I have gone through all the leagues and matured as such," he added. "I feel like I am ready, it's a good test for me and one I am looking forward to."

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

Writer:Vital York
Date:Thursday June 26 2014
Time: 10:49AM

Login to post a comment

Best of International Football News

-

Recent York City Articles

Former York ace recalls famous victories

Former York City midfielder Graeme Murty has been recalling his Bootham Crescent days while preparing for Glasgow Rangers' Scottish Cup fourth round tie with minnows Fraserburgh.

York City v Spennymoor Town

York City would equal their impressive winning sequence of four years ago if they can achieve a sixth successive victory against promotion rivals Spennymoor Town at Bootham Crescent.

Their spectacular midweek 5-3 triumph at AFC Telford United had followed earlier wins against Bradford Park Avenue, Darlington and North Ferriby United [twice].

That witnesses York now fourth in the table and within six points of second-placed Harrogate Town, although still well short of clear leaders

York City Ladies v Wallsend BC Ladies

Following a long and extended eight-week absence, York City Ladies are finally back in action when hosting Wallsend Boys Club Ladies at Haxby Road on Sunday afternoon (kick-off 2.00pm).

York City Futsal v Birmingham Futsal

York City Futsal have an immediate opportunity of revenge when hosting Birmingham in the National Super League at the YorkSport Arena on Sunday afternoon (kick-off 4.30pm).

York City Archived Articles

Vital York articles from

Site Journalists

Winehouse
Editor email
Profile

Current Poll (see more polls)

Where should City strengthen at the back?
Suggested By: Vital York City
Full-back12%
Centre-back14%
Defensive midfield0%
All three74%
Vital Football Comment
Latest F1 News
Latest Vital Boxing News
Write for Vital Football

Recent York City Results (view all)

Vital Members League Table

RankNamePoints
1.VitalYorkCity4
The Vital Football Members League