York City - Opening win for City
UK time is: 01:35:03
Vital Login
Social Login

Choose your club

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Football, It's Vital'

Opening win for City

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

York City won their opening fixture as they defeated Clifton Alliance CC in their charity cricket match on Sunday afternoon.

Skipper Michael Coulson prevailed at the toss and put the home side in and they were restricted to a score of 131-5 off their 20 overs. Ryan Jarvis claimed two wickets in successive balls to end with impressive figures of 2-7 while Marvin McCoy took an excellent catch.

Tom Platt retired on 61 and opening partner Coulson also struck 34 as the visitors chased their victory target after the tea interval. Undefeated pair Jarvis (16) and Jason Mooney (14) then knocked off the winning runs in a score of 133-3 with twenty-two balls still remaining.

Star batsman Platt was named as man of the match by manager Nigel Worthington as successful captain Coulson collected the winning trophy.

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate




Use your social login to comment on front page articles. Login using you Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts and have your say!



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

The journalist

Writer: Vital York Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday June 30 2014

Time: 10:34AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent York City Articles

Magpies turn to youth (Tuesday July 28 2015)

Minsterbelles earn first victory (Tuesday July 28 2015)

Assistant outlines road to success (Tuesday July 28 2015)

Former defender offered deal (Tuesday July 28 2015)

Former midfielder released (Tuesday July 28 2015)

13m striker could face York (Tuesday July 28 2015)

Former keeper joins O's (Tuesday July 28 2015)

JPT Celebrates Ten Years - York (Tuesday July 28 2015)

City held by Quakers (Monday July 27 2015)

York with plenty to prove (Monday July 27 2015)

Archived York City Articles

List All Minstermen.net Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

League Results (view all)

Latest Results

League Table (view table)

Team P W D L GD Pts
18. Plymouth 0 0 0 0 0 0
19. Portsmouth 0 0 0 0 0 0
20. Stevenage 0 0 0 0 0 0
21. Wimbledon 0 0 0 0 0 0
22. Wycombe 0 0 0 0 0 0
23. Yeovil 0 0 0 0 0 0
24. York 0 0 0 0 0 0

York City Fixtures (view all)

Breaking League News

Torquay 0 - 1 Argyle
Plymouth : 28/07/2015 23:26:01
Repaying The Torquay Favour
Exeter : 28/07/2015 21:27:00
Deacon & Barnard Get One Year Deals
Crawley : 28/07/2015 21:13:01
Yates Pleased With Reading Performance
Crawley : 28/07/2015 21:06:00
PFC signing - Evans is a done deal!
Portsmouth : 28/07/2015 20:21:00

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

How will City fare compared to last season?
Suggested By:  Vital York City
Much better 1%
Slight improvement 0%
About the same 66%
Worse 33%