Vital Football

Latest York City News

Opening win for City

Opening win for City

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

York City won their opening fixture as they defeated Clifton Alliance CC in their charity cricket match on Sunday afternoon.

Skipper Michael Coulson prevailed at the toss and put the home side in and they were restricted to a score of 131-5 off their 20 overs. Ryan Jarvis claimed two wickets in successive balls to end with impressive figures of 2-7 while Marvin McCoy took an excellent catch.

Tom Platt retired on 61 and opening partner Coulson also struck 34 as the visitors chased their victory target after the tea interval. Undefeated pair Jarvis (16) and Jason Mooney (14) then knocked off the winning runs in a score of 133-3 with twenty-two balls still remaining.

Star batsman Platt was named as man of the match by manager Nigel Worthington as successful captain Coulson collected the winning trophy.

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

Writer:Vital York
Date:Monday June 30 2014
Time: 10:34AM

Login to post a comment

Recent York City Articles

Video: York City 1 Kidderminster Harriers 1

York City were rather fortunate to take a point against an impressive Kidderminster Harriers at Bootham Crescent.

Castleford White Rose Women 0 York City Ladies 2

York City Ladies made it consecutive victories after recording an important league double at Castleford White Rose Women.

Video: An important point - Gray

Manager Martin Gray believes the 1-1 draw with Kidderminster Harriers could yet turn into a very important point for York City come the end of the season.

York City 1 Kidderminster Harriers 1

York City produced another well-below-par performance in a 1-1 draw with a decent Kidderminster Harriers side at Bootham Crescent and continue to slip further behind the leaders.

Skipper Ryan Croasdale had earned the visitors a deserved advantage midway through the opening half, but leading goalscorer Jon Parkin's superb free-kick cancelled it out before the interval.

Manager Martin Gray earlier named an unchanged starting line-up with the returning Tyler Walton replacing Theo Wha

Archived Vital York Articles

Vital York articles from

Site Journalists

Winehouse
Editor email
Profile

Current Poll (see more polls)

Can York City really consider leaving out Jon Parkin?
Suggested By: Vital York City
Yes17%
No83%
The Vital Football Members League
Latest F1 News
Latest Vital Boxing News
Vital Football Comment

Recent York City Results (view all)

York City Fixtures (view all)

Vital Members League Table

RankNamePoints
1.Yorkshire Bear4
2.VitalYorkCity1
Write for Vital Football