Vital Football

Latest York City News

Opening win for City

Opening win for City

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

York City won their opening fixture as they defeated Clifton Alliance CC in their charity cricket match on Sunday afternoon.

Skipper Michael Coulson prevailed at the toss and put the home side in and they were restricted to a score of 131-5 off their 20 overs. Ryan Jarvis claimed two wickets in successive balls to end with impressive figures of 2-7 while Marvin McCoy took an excellent catch.

Tom Platt retired on 61 and opening partner Coulson also struck 34 as the visitors chased their victory target after the tea interval. Undefeated pair Jarvis (16) and Jason Mooney (14) then knocked off the winning runs in a score of 133-3 with twenty-two balls still remaining.

Star batsman Platt was named as man of the match by manager Nigel Worthington as successful captain Coulson collected the winning trophy.

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate

Win FREE pizza with Vital Football!
Select your team and get 50% off if they score twice.
www.papajohns.co.uk/football



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

Writer:Vital York
Date:Monday June 30 2014
Time: 10:34AM

Login to post a comment

Recent York City Articles

York Minstermen Quiz

York Minstermen's latest quiz is being held on Thursday May 5th with Martin Crudge as quizmaster.

Minsterbelles twice recover for draw

York City Ladies twice fought back from a goal down during a 3-3 draw with Tynedale Ladies at Stannerburn Road.

Shocking City roll over in Crescent finale

A 4-1 defeat to Bristol Rovers was hardly an appropriate way to mark what for all intents and purposes will be York City's last-ever Football League fixture at Bootham Crescent.

Audio: Fear was big factor - McNamara

Manager Jackie McNamara felt that fear and a lack of confidence were major factors behind York City's latest 4-1 defeat to Bristol Rovers.

Archived Minstermen.net Articles

Minstermen.net articles from
As featured on NewsNow: Real Madrid news
Real Madrid News 24/7  

Site Journalists

Winehouse
Editor email
Profile

Current Poll (see more polls)

Will you continue to watch York City under Jackie McNamara next season?
Suggested By: Vital York City
Yes50%
No50%

League Table

# Team P W D L Pts. GD
C Northampton 45 28 12 5 96 35
2 Accrington 45 24 12 9 84 26
3 Oxford 45 23 14 8 83 40
4 Bristol Rovers 45 25 7 13 82 30
5 Portsmouth 45 21 15 9 78 32
6 Plymouth 45 23 9 13 78 21
7 Wimbledon 45 20 12 13 72 13
8 Cambridge 45 18 13 14 67 11
9 Leyton Orient 45 18 12 15 66 -2
10 Wycombe 45 17 13 15 64 4
11 Exeter 45 17 13 15 64 1
12 Carlisle 45 16 16 13 64 0
13 Mansfield 45 17 12 16 63 8
14 Luton 45 18 9 18 63 -1
15 Barnet 45 16 11 18 59 -4
16 Hartlepool 45 15 6 24 51 -18
17 Notts County 45 14 9 22 51 -24
18 Yeovil 45 11 15 19 48 -15
19 Stevenage 45 11 14 20 47 -15
20 Crawley 45 13 8 24 47 -30
21 Morecambe 45 12 9 24 45 -22
22 Newport 45 10 13 22 43 -20
R Dag & Red 45 8 10 27 34 -34
R York 45 7 12 26 33 -36
Latest F1 News
Latest Vital Boxing News

Recent York City Results (view all)

York City Fixtures (view all)

May 7 2016 3:00PM : Morecambe (a)
Sky Bet League Two