UK time is: 04:37:55
Vital Login
Social Login

Choose your club

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Football, It's Vital'

Striker happy to pick-up pieces

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Striker Michael Coulson admits he is more than happy being on free-kicks at York City.

"I don't really try anything fancy with them like bending them in the top corner" - Michael Coulson
That follows the 26-year-old finding the net with an early set-piece from the edge of the box during the latest 4-0 friendly win at Raith Rovers.

"I like being on free-kicks. It's a chance
to get goals and everyone wants to
score," Coulson told The Press. "I don't really try anything fancy with them like bending them in the top corner but it's all about them going in and I just try to hit the target and make the keeper work."

Meanwhile, Coulson revealed he is perfectly willing to take penalties again having finished the previous campaign as the club's designated spot-kick expert.

"I had a couple of pressure penalties last season and it was the first time in my career that I'd really taken them in a game situation but I didn't feel fazed by it," he added. "I enjoyed it and it's a good chance to get goals on your record so you don't want to pass that opportunity up."

Video Link: Raith Rovers 0 York City 4

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate




Use your social login to comment on front page articles. Login using you Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts and have your say!



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

The journalist

Writer: Vital York Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Saturday July 19 2014

Time: 1:43PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent York City Articles

Worthington slams display (Wednesday September 17 2014)

Wait goes on (Tuesday September 16 2014)

Stats: York City v Luton Town (Tuesday September 16 2014)

Minstermen bid to top Hatters (Tuesday September 16 2014)

Late decision on midfielder (Tuesday September 16 2014)

Still highlights York threat (Tuesday September 16 2014)

Worthington hits loan market (Monday September 15 2014)

Striker worry for City (Monday September 15 2014)

Midfielder misses out (Monday September 15 2014)

First defeat for City Ladies (Sunday September 14 2014)

Archived York City Articles

List All Minstermen.net Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

League Results (view all)

Latest Results
York 2 - 2 Cambridge
York 0 - 0 Wycombe
York 1 - 1 Northampton
York 0 - 0 Luton
Burton 2 - 0 York
Exeter 1 - 1 York

League Table (view table)

Team P W D L GD Pts
13. Plymouth 8 3 1 4 2 10
14. Stevenage 8 3 1 4 -3 10
15. Tranmere 8 2 3 3 0 9
16. York 8 1 6 1 -1 9
17. Luton 8 2 3 3 -2 9
18. Newport 7 2 2 3 -2 8
19. Dag & Red 8 2 1 5 -6 7

Breaking League News

Northampton 5-1 Hartlepool
Northampton : 17/09/2014 23:32:00
Mansfield 1-0 Morecambe
Mansfield : 17/09/2014 23:30:00
Shrewsbury 1-0 Carlisle
Carlisle : 17/09/2014 23:28:00
AFC Wimbledon 3-0 Burton
Burton : 17/09/2014 23:26:00
Flitcroft - A Great Start To The Week
Bury : 17/09/2014 22:37:00

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Which area is a priority to strengthen?
Suggested By:  Vital York
Goalkeeper 34%
Defender 0%
Midfielder 33%
Winger 0%
Striker 33%