Vital Football

Latest York City News

Striker happy to pick-up pieces

Striker happy to pick-up pieces

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Striker Michael Coulson admits he is more than happy being on free-kicks at York City.

"I don't really try anything fancy with them like bending them in the top corner" - Michael Coulson
That follows the 26-year-old finding the net with an early set-piece from the edge of the box during the latest 4-0 friendly win at Raith Rovers.

"I like being on free-kicks. It's a chance
to get goals and everyone wants to
score," Coulson told The Press. "I don't really try anything fancy with them like bending them in the top corner but it's all about them going in and I just try to hit the target and make the keeper work."

Meanwhile, Coulson revealed he is perfectly willing to take penalties again having finished the previous campaign as the club's designated spot-kick expert.

"I had a couple of pressure penalties last season and it was the first time in my career that I'd really taken them in a game situation but I didn't feel fazed by it," he added. "I enjoyed it and it's a good chance to get goals on your record so you don't want to pass that opportunity up."

Video Link: Raith Rovers 0 York City 4

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

Writer:Vital York
Date:Saturday July 19 2014
Time: 1:43PM

Login to post a comment

Recent York City Articles

Mills wants more from winger

Manager Gary Mills has told forward Daniel Nti to improve his levels after returning from a recent loan spell at FC Halifax Town.

Defender again missing

York City's converted defender Yan Klukowski is once again ruled out for the arrival of Gateshead to Bootham Crescent on Tuesday evening.

Duo banned after Barrow attack

Two Barrow teenagers responsible for attacking York City supporters last year have been given five-year football banning orders.

Video: Vanarama National League Highlights

Weekend action from the Vanarama National League as York City once again fail to build upon an early lead at Boreham Wood.

Archived Vital York Articles

Vital York articles from

Site Journalists

Winehouse
Editor email
Profile

Current Poll (see more polls)

Who should replace Simon Lappin in the middle?
Suggested By: Vital York City
Simon Heslop10%
Adriano Moke65%
Danny Holmes0%
Daniel Parslow3%
Lanre Oyebanjo7%
A new signing15%

League Table

# Team P W D L Pts. GD
1 Lincoln 30 20 4 6 64 30
2 Dag & Red 32 19 4 9 61 21
3 Forest Green 32 17 9 6 60 25
4 Tranmere 31 18 6 7 60 19
5 Dover Athletic 32 17 5 10 56 16
6 Barrow 32 14 12 6 54 18
7 Aldershot 33 15 9 9 54 12
8 Gateshead 33 14 10 9 52 20
9 Macclesfield 31 15 5 11 50 13
10 Wrexham 34 12 10 12 46 -8
11 Bromley 32 13 6 13 45 -4
12 Chester 33 11 10 12 43 4
13 Boreham Wood 32 11 10 11 43 2
14 Solihull Moors 33 12 7 14 43 -3
15 Eastleigh 32 10 12 10 42 2
16 Braintree 32 10 7 15 37 -16
17 Sutton 30 10 6 14 36 -9
18 Torquay 33 9 8 16 35 -9
19 Guiseley 33 9 8 16 35 -12
20 Woking 33 9 7 17 34 -15
21 Maidstone 33 9 6 18 33 -23
22 Southport 33 8 7 18 31 -32
23 York 32 5 13 14 28 -20
24 North Ferriby 33 8 3 22 27 -31
The Vital Football Members League
Latest F1 News
Latest Vital Boxing News
Vital Football Comment

Recent York City Results (view all)

York City Fixtures (view all)

Feb 21 2017 7:45PM : Gateshead (H)
Conference National
Feb 28 2017 7:45PM : Lincoln City (a)
Conference National
Mar 4 2017 3:00PM : Eastleigh (H)
Conference National
Mar 7 2017 7:45PM : Macclesfield Town (a)
Conference National
Mar 11 2017 3:00PM : Sutton United (a)
Conference National
Mar 18 2017 3:00PM : Bromley (H)
Conference National

Vital Members League Table

RankNamePoints
1.VitalYorkCity8
2.Blake61
3.ceriog9091
4.addo1231
Write for Vital Football