Vital Football

Latest York City News

Striker happy to pick-up pieces

Striker happy to pick-up pieces

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Striker Michael Coulson admits he is more than happy being on free-kicks at York City.

"I don't really try anything fancy with them like bending them in the top corner" - Michael Coulson
That follows the 26-year-old finding the net with an early set-piece from the edge of the box during the latest 4-0 friendly win at Raith Rovers.

"I like being on free-kicks. It's a chance
to get goals and everyone wants to
score," Coulson told The Press. "I don't really try anything fancy with them like bending them in the top corner but it's all about them going in and I just try to hit the target and make the keeper work."

Meanwhile, Coulson revealed he is perfectly willing to take penalties again having finished the previous campaign as the club's designated spot-kick expert.

"I had a couple of pressure penalties last season and it was the first time in my career that I'd really taken them in a game situation but I didn't feel fazed by it," he added. "I enjoyed it and it's a good chance to get goals on your record so you don't want to pass that opportunity up."

Video Link: Raith Rovers 0 York City 4

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

Writer:Vital York
Date:Saturday July 19 2014
Time: 1:43PM

Best of Vital Network

Login to post a comment

Recent York City Articles

Former midfielder joins Park Avenue

Former York City midfielder Nicky Wroe has joined National League North side Bradford Park Avenue.

York could turn to keeper

York City boss Jackie McNamara could offer a deal to latest trialist goalkeeper Luke Simpson.

Minstermen pay the penalty

With a fortnight remaining until the start of their new campaign, York City went down 2-0 to Bolton Wanderers in their latest pre-season friendly at Bootham Crescent.

Former striker moves

Former York City striker Jason Walker has joined National League North outfit Chorley.

Archived Minstermen.net Articles

Minstermen.net articles from

Site Journalists

Winehouse
Editor email
Profile

Current Poll (see more polls)

How do you rate Jackie McNamara's summer recruitment?
Suggested By: Vital York City
Excellent9%
Very Good22%
Good35%
Average18%
Bad16%

League Table

# Team P W D L Pts. GD
1 Aldershot 0 0 0 0 0 0
2 Barrow 0 0 0 0 0 0
3 Boreham Wood 0 0 0 0 0 0
4 Braintree 0 0 0 0 0 0
5 Bromley 0 0 0 0 0 0
6 Chester 0 0 0 0 0 0
7 Dag & Red 0 0 0 0 0 0
8 Dover Athletic 0 0 0 0 0 0
9 Eastleigh 0 0 0 0 0 0
10 Forest Green 0 0 0 0 0 0
11 Gateshead 0 0 0 0 0 0
12 Guiseley 0 0 0 0 0 0
13 Lincoln 0 0 0 0 0 0
14 Macclesfield 0 0 0 0 0 0
15 Maidstone 0 0 0 0 0 0
16 North Ferriby 0 0 0 0 0 0
17 Solihull Moors 0 0 0 0 0 0
18 Southport 0 0 0 0 0 0
19 Sutton 0 0 0 0 0 0
20 Torquay 0 0 0 0 0 0
21 Tranmere 0 0 0 0 0 0
22 Woking 0 0 0 0 0 0
23 Wrexham 0 0 0 0 0 0
24 York 0 0 0 0 0 0
Latest F1 News
Latest Vital Boxing News

Recent York City Results (view all)

York City Fixtures (view all)

Vital Members League Table

RankNamePoints
1.stoneslive1