Vital Football

Latest York City News

Striker happy to pick-up pieces

Striker happy to pick-up pieces

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Striker Michael Coulson admits he is more than happy being on free-kicks at York City.

"I don't really try anything fancy with them like bending them in the top corner" - Michael Coulson
That follows the 26-year-old finding the net with an early set-piece from the edge of the box during the latest 4-0 friendly win at Raith Rovers.

"I like being on free-kicks. It's a chance
to get goals and everyone wants to
score," Coulson told The Press. "I don't really try anything fancy with them like bending them in the top corner but it's all about them going in and I just try to hit the target and make the keeper work."

Meanwhile, Coulson revealed he is perfectly willing to take penalties again having finished the previous campaign as the club's designated spot-kick expert.

"I had a couple of pressure penalties last season and it was the first time in my career that I'd really taken them in a game situation but I didn't feel fazed by it," he added. "I enjoyed it and it's a good chance to get goals on your record so you don't want to pass that opportunity up."

Video Link: Raith Rovers 0 York City 4

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

Writer:Vital York
Date:Saturday July 19 2014
Time: 1:43PM

Best of Vital Network

Vital Boxing - Mike Towell – RIP

Vital Boxing - Tyson Fury Will Be Back!

Login to post a comment

Recent York City Articles

Stats: York City v Aldershot Town

All the stats from York City (0) vs (1) Aldershot Town, Bootham Crescent, Sat 1st Oct 3.00pm Att: 2,188

York City 0 Aldershot Town 1

York City are now more than seven-and-a-half hours without even a goal following their latest 1-0 defeat to Aldershot Town at Bootham Crescent.

A first-half winner from Bernard Mensah therefore further increased the pressure on manager Jackie McNamara with a seventh defeat in thirteen games this season.

Scottish winger Danny Galbraith was amongst three changes for the hosts having been declared as available for the first time during the present campaign.

Fellow wide-man K

Result: York City v Aldershot Town

Result from York City v Aldershot Town at Bootham Crescent.

Team Line-Ups: York City v Aldershot Town

Team line-ups for York City v Aldershot Town at Bootham Crescent.

Archived Minstermen.net Articles

Minstermen.net articles from

Site Journalists

Winehouse
Editor email
Profile

Current Poll (see more polls)

Who will finish as leading goalscorer?
Suggested By: Vital York City
Scott Fenwick8%
Richard Brodie59%
Reece Thompson4%
Daniel Nti 2%
Aidan Connolly 21%
Yan Klukowski2%
Jack Higgins2%
Kaine Felix2%

League Table

# Team P W D L Pts. GD
1 Dag & Red 12 9 0 3 27 14
2 Forest Green 12 8 2 2 26 11
3 Macclesfield 12 8 0 4 24 9
4 Barrow 12 7 3 2 24 6
5 Tranmere 12 7 2 3 23 6
6 Lincoln 12 7 1 4 22 11
7 Eastleigh 12 6 4 2 22 9
8 Aldershot 12 6 4 2 22 8
9 Dover Athletic 12 7 1 4 22 4
10 Boreham Wood 12 4 6 2 18 6
11 Maidstone 12 5 3 4 18 0
12 Gateshead 12 5 2 5 17 6
13 Sutton 12 5 1 6 16 -2
14 Wrexham 12 4 4 4 16 -6
15 Chester 12 4 3 5 15 1
16 Torquay 12 4 1 7 13 -5
17 Solihull Moors 12 3 4 5 13 -7
18 York 12 3 3 6 12 -4
19 Woking 12 3 2 7 11 -7
20 Bromley 12 3 2 7 11 -7
21 North Ferriby 12 3 1 8 10 -14
22 Braintree 12 2 3 7 9 -8
23 Southport 12 2 3 7 9 -18
24 Guiseley 12 0 3 9 3 -13
Latest F1 News
Latest Vital Boxing News

Recent York City Results (view all)

York City Fixtures (view all)

Oct 1 2016 3:00PM : Aldershot Town (H)
Conference National
Oct 4 2016 7:45PM : Guiseley (a)
Conference National
Oct 8 2016 3:00PM : Braintree Town (a)
Conference National
Oct 22 2016 3:00PM : Chester (H)
Conference National
Oct 25 2016 7:45PM : Southport (a)
Conference National
Oct 29 2016 3:00PM : Sutton United (H)
Conference National