UK time is: 18:53:39
Vital Login
Social Login

Choose your club

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Football, It's Vital'

Striker happy to pick-up pieces

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Striker Michael Coulson admits he is more than happy being on free-kicks at York City.

"I don't really try anything fancy with them like bending them in the top corner" - Michael Coulson
That follows the 26-year-old finding the net with an early set-piece from the edge of the box during the latest 4-0 friendly win at Raith Rovers.

"I like being on free-kicks. It's a chance
to get goals and everyone wants to
score," Coulson told The Press. "I don't really try anything fancy with them like bending them in the top corner but it's all about them going in and I just try to hit the target and make the keeper work."

Meanwhile, Coulson revealed he is perfectly willing to take penalties again having finished the previous campaign as the club's designated spot-kick expert.

"I had a couple of pressure penalties last season and it was the first time in my career that I'd really taken them in a game situation but I didn't feel fazed by it," he added. "I enjoyed it and it's a good chance to get goals on your record so you don't want to pass that opportunity up."

Video Link: Raith Rovers 0 York City 4

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate




Use your social login to comment on front page articles. Login using you Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts and have your say!



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

The journalist

Writer: Vital York Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Saturday July 19 2014

Time: 1:43PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent York City Articles

Dan to the rescue (Monday October 20 2014)

Mariners desperate for Dan (Monday October 20 2014)

City Ladies' reserves exit (Sunday October 19 2014)

No move before Morecambe (Sunday October 19 2014)

Wilcox realises task ahead (Saturday October 18 2014)

Late winner denies ten-man York (Saturday October 18 2014)

Stats: York City v Shrewsbury Town (Saturday October 18 2014)

Departure saddens assistant (Saturday October 18 2014)

Defender backs new boss (Saturday October 18 2014)

City Ladies' tie called off (Friday October 17 2014)

Archived York City Articles

List All Minstermen.net Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

League Results (view all)

Latest Results
York 0 - 0 Wycombe
York 2 - 3 Southend
York 0 - 0 Luton
York 0 - 0 Portsmouth
Burton 2 - 0 York
Exeter 1 - 1 York

League Table (view table)

Team P W D L GD Pts
18. Accrington 13 5 1 7 -6 16
19. Dag & Red 13 4 2 7 -5 14
20. Oxford 13 3 4 6 -5 13
21. Carlisle 13 3 3 7 -7 12
22. Hartlepool 13 3 2 8 -12 11
23. York 13 1 7 5 -7 10
24. Tranmere 13 2 3 8 -7 9

Breaking League News

Free scoring Pompey striker signs pro deal
Portsmouth : 20/10/2014 18:39:00
Gnanduillet Joins On Loan
Tranmere : 20/10/2014 16:30:00
Shuker Returns In Coaching Role
Tranmere : 20/10/2014 16:26:00
Gill On Disappointing Defeat
Tranmere : 20/10/2014 16:23:00
Westley Delighted With Loanee Impact
Stevenage : 20/10/2014 16:05:00

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Have York City appointed the right man in Russ Wilcox?
Suggested By:  Vital York
Yes 10%
No 90%