York City - Positive news for Minstermen
UK time is: 08:44:12
Vital Login
Social Login

Choose your club

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Football, It's Vital'

Positive news for Minstermen

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Positive news for York City with both Femi Ilesanmi and Jake Hyde expected to be straight back in action at the weekend.

"We will be going into war in a week and a half's time and I would expect them to stay on then" - Nigel Worthington
The duo of summer arrivals each took knocks during the latest pre-season friendly defeat to Nottingham Forest but should again be in contention to face Sheffield United on Saturday. Midfielder Luke Summerfield may also return.

"It's a couple of rolled ankles and I don't have much sympathy with injuries like that," manager Nigel Worthington told The Press. "Any footballer has just got to deal with things like that and I expect them both back on Saturday against Sheffield United. We will be going into war in a week and a half's time and I would expect them to stay on then, grit their teeth and have a never-say-die attitude."

Meanwhile, Worthington was more than delighted to witness young midfielder Tom Platt finally getting off the mark during the narrow 2-1 loss to Championship opposition at Bootham Crescent.

"Somebody told me about 15 months ago that Tom Platt can score goals and now I believe them," he added. "He has played really well in pre-season. I've been delighted with him and it's now about keeping that going."

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate




Use your social login to comment on front page articles. Login using you Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts and have your say!



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

The journalist

Writer: Vital York Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday July 30 2014

Time: 11:34PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent York City Articles

York Minstermen Quiz (Thursday September 3 2015)

FA Cup weekend for City Ladies (Thursday September 3 2015)

Wilcox against change (Thursday September 3 2015)

Winger misses weekend (Wednesday September 2 2015)

Wilcox could be loan ranger (Tuesday September 1 2015)

Newcomers lead the way (Tuesday September 1 2015)

Former striker moves on loan (Tuesday September 1 2015)

Reserves triumph (Tuesday September 1 2015)

Former winger shown the door (Tuesday September 1 2015)

Former defender moves on (Tuesday September 1 2015)

Archived York City Articles

List All Minstermen.net Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

League Results (view all)

Latest Results
York 1 - 2 Mansfield
Exeter 0 - 0 York
York 1 - 0 Yeovil
York 1 - 2 Hartlepool
Wycombe 3 - 0 York

League Table (view table)

Team P W D L GD Pts
16. Carlisle 5 1 3 1 -2 6
17. Stevenage 5 1 2 2 -3 5
18. Barnet 5 1 1 3 -4 4
19. York 5 1 1 3 -4 4
20. Notts County 5 1 1 3 -5 4
21. Yeovil 5 1 0 4 -4 3
22. Luton 5 0 2 3 -3 2

York City Fixtures (view all)

Breaking League News

On this day in history...4th September
Portsmouth : 04/09/2015 07:01:01
Preview: Wycombe Wanderers v Hartlepool United
Wycombe : 04/09/2015 00:48:00
Corners, free kicks and throw-ins
Hartlepool : 03/09/2015 18:20:00
Sturrock On Barnet Confidence Boost
Yeovil : 03/09/2015 17:14:01
Stevenage Deadline Round Up
Stevenage : 03/09/2015 16:56:01

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will be top goalscorer this season?
Suggested By:  Vital York City
Jake Hyde 25%
Michael Coulson 5%
Emile Sinclair 5%
Vadaine Oliver 14%
Reece Thompson 51%