Vital Football

Latest York City News

Positive news for Minstermen

Positive news for Minstermen

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Positive news for York City with both Femi Ilesanmi and Jake Hyde expected to be straight back in action at the weekend.

"We will be going into war in a week and a half's time and I would expect them to stay on then" - Nigel Worthington
The duo of summer arrivals each took knocks during the latest pre-season friendly defeat to Nottingham Forest but should again be in contention to face Sheffield United on Saturday. Midfielder Luke Summerfield may also return.

"It's a couple of rolled ankles and I don't have much sympathy with injuries like that," manager Nigel Worthington told The Press. "Any footballer has just got to deal with things like that and I expect them both back on Saturday against Sheffield United. We will be going into war in a week and a half's time and I would expect them to stay on then, grit their teeth and have a never-say-die attitude."

Meanwhile, Worthington was more than delighted to witness young midfielder Tom Platt finally getting off the mark during the narrow 2-1 loss to Championship opposition at Bootham Crescent.

"Somebody told me about 15 months ago that Tom Platt can score goals and now I believe them," he added. "He has played really well in pre-season. I've been delighted with him and it's now about keeping that going."

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

Writer:Vital York
Date:Wednesday July 30 2014
Time: 11:34PM

Login to post a comment

Recent York City Articles

Stats: York City v Brackley Town

All the stats from York City (1) vs (0) Brackley Town, Bootham Crescent, Sat 25th Feb 3.00pm Att: 1,994

York City 1 Brackley Town 0

Ten-man York City scraped into the FA Trophy semi-final with a fortunate single-goal victory against National League North outfit Brackley Town at Bootham Crescent.

Striker Jon Parkin scored their winner inside the opening half-hour having already missed an eighth-minute penalty.

But the visitors should really have left with reward when dominating a second-half in which they struck the woodwork on three separate occasions. Home substitute Danny Holmes was also sent-off for a couple

Result: York City 1 Brackley Town 0

Result from York City v Brackley Town in the FA Trophy quarter-final at Bootham Crescent.

Team Line-Ups: York City v Brackley Town

Team line-ups for York City v Brackley Town in the FA Trophy quarter-final at Bootham Crescent.

Archived Vital York Articles

Vital York articles from

Site Journalists

Winehouse
Editor email
Profile

Current Poll (see more polls)

Who should replace Simon Lappin in the middle?
Suggested By: Vital York City
Simon Heslop9%
Adriano Moke33%
Danny Holmes2%
Daniel Parslow2%
Lanre Oyebanjo4%
A new signing50%

League Table

# Team P W D L Pts. GD
1 Lincoln 31 21 4 6 67 31
2 Dag & Red 33 20 4 9 64 22
3 Tranmere 32 19 6 7 63 20
4 Forest Green 32 17 9 6 60 25
5 Dover Athletic 32 17 5 10 56 16
6 Gateshead 34 15 10 9 55 22
7 Barrow 32 14 12 6 54 18
8 Aldershot 33 15 9 9 54 12
9 Macclesfield 32 16 5 11 53 14
10 Wrexham 34 12 10 12 46 -8
11 Bromley 33 13 6 14 45 -5
12 Chester 33 11 10 12 43 4
13 Boreham Wood 33 11 10 12 43 1
14 Solihull Moors 33 12 7 14 43 -3
15 Eastleigh 33 10 12 11 42 1
16 Braintree 32 10 7 15 37 -16
17 Sutton 30 10 6 14 36 -9
18 Torquay 33 9 8 16 35 -9
19 Guiseley 33 9 8 16 35 -12
20 Woking 33 9 7 17 34 -15
21 Maidstone 33 9 6 18 33 -23
22 Southport 33 8 7 18 31 -32
23 York 33 5 13 15 28 -22
24 North Ferriby 34 8 3 23 27 -32
The Vital Football Members League
Latest F1 News
Latest Vital Boxing News
Vital Football Comment

Recent York City Results (view all)

York City Fixtures (view all)

Feb 28 2017 7:45PM : Lincoln City (a)
Conference National
Mar 4 2017 3:00PM : Eastleigh (H)
Conference National
Mar 7 2017 7:45PM : Macclesfield Town (a)
Conference National
Mar 11 2017 3:00PM : Sutton United (a)
Conference National
Mar 18 2017 3:00PM : Bromley (H)
Conference National
Mar 21 2017 7:45PM : Southport (H)
Conference National

Vital Members League Table

RankNamePoints
1.VitalYorkCity8
2.addo1232
3.Blake61
4.ceriog9091
Write for Vital Football