UK time is: 20:50:59
Vital Login
Social Login

Choose your club

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Football, It's Vital'

Positive news for Minstermen

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Positive news for York City with both Femi Ilesanmi and Jake Hyde expected to be straight back in action at the weekend.

"We will be going into war in a week and a half's time and I would expect them to stay on then" - Nigel Worthington
The duo of summer arrivals each took knocks during the latest pre-season friendly defeat to Nottingham Forest but should again be in contention to face Sheffield United on Saturday. Midfielder Luke Summerfield may also return.

"It's a couple of rolled ankles and I don't have much sympathy with injuries like that," manager Nigel Worthington told The Press. "Any footballer has just got to deal with things like that and I expect them both back on Saturday against Sheffield United. We will be going into war in a week and a half's time and I would expect them to stay on then, grit their teeth and have a never-say-die attitude."

Meanwhile, Worthington was more than delighted to witness young midfielder Tom Platt finally getting off the mark during the narrow 2-1 loss to Championship opposition at Bootham Crescent.

"Somebody told me about 15 months ago that Tom Platt can score goals and now I believe them," he added. "He has played really well in pre-season. I've been delighted with him and it's now about keeping that going."

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate




Use your social login to comment on front page articles. Login using you Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts and have your say!



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

The journalist

Writer: Vital York Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday July 30 2014

Time: 11:34PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent York City Articles

High fives for City Ladies (Sunday November 23 2014)

Twin striker hunt for Wilcox (Saturday November 22 2014)

Wilcox praises courage (Saturday November 22 2014)

Wilcox hails 'huge' win (Saturday November 22 2014)

Lowe heads City fightback (Saturday November 22 2014)

Stats: Hartlepool United v York City (Saturday November 22 2014)

Clough confirms Diego to York (Saturday November 22 2014)

Diego set for York return (Friday November 21 2014)

Last win during golden era (Friday November 21 2014)

City prepare for basement scrap (Friday November 21 2014)

Archived York City Articles

List All Minstermen.net Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

League Results (view all)

Latest Results
York 0 - 0 Wycombe
Burton 2 - 0 York
Exeter 1 - 1 York
Morecambe 1 - 1 York
Dag & Red 2 - 0 York
Cheltenham 0 - 1 York

League Table (view table)

Team P W D L GD Pts
17. Mansfield 18 6 4 8 -6 22
18. Cheltenham 18 6 4 8 -10 22
19. Oxford 18 5 5 8 -4 20
20. York 18 3 9 6 -5 18
21. Dag & Red 18 5 3 10 -7 18
22. Carlisle 18 5 3 10 -11 18
23. Tranmere 18 2 6 10 -9 12

Breaking League News

High fives for City Ladies
York : 23/11/2014 18:03:00
That Wilkinson Red Card
Luton : 23/11/2014 12:31:00
250 Up for Tyler!
Luton : 23/11/2014 12:25:00
Still Disappointed at Burton Defeat
Luton : 23/11/2014 12:10:00
Mansfield v Argyle Match Highlights
Plymouth : 23/11/2014 12:09:00

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Have York City appointed the right man in Russ Wilcox?
Suggested By:  Vital York
Yes 60%
No 40%