Vital Football

Latest York City News

Striker too sharp for Blades

Striker too sharp for Blades

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Ryan Jarvis scored twice as York City's threadbare side proved too strong for League One visitors Sheffield United with a 2-0 victory in their early kick-off at Bootham Crescent.

Neither Jake Hyde nor Femi Ilesanmi made the starting line-up for hosts already missing the likes of Wes Fletcher, Josh Carson and Luke Summerfield. That allowed youngster Cameron Murray a chance to impress while the recovering Daniel Parslow was included on the bench.

However, it was Michael Coulson who missed an early opportunity when slicing wide after being released by a misplaced pass. Jamie Murphy was similarly off-target at the other end and then delivered for Jose Baxter to glance towards Michael Ingham.

Blades counterpart Mark Howard next had to turn over a far post header by Keith Lowe from Russell Penn's free-kick as the home side went close to opening the scoring.

Skipper Chris Basham replied by heading a Craig Alcock narrowly wide while Stefan Scougall fired over following the break.

The Minstermen still went in front as the hour approached through Jarvis forcing the ball in at the second attempt during a scramble in the visitors' box. They responded with substitute Connor Dimaio sending a deflected effort at the goalkeeper before fellow replacement Diego De Girolamo struck wide.

Even so it was York going further ahead as Jarvis produced an incisive finish for his second of the afternoon from Lindon Meikle's 69th minute pass.

The visitors tried to come back and Murphy's cross was nodded over by Harrison McGahey before substitute Andy Butler headed straight at Jason Mooney.

But it was their opponents enjoying the perfect boost ahead of the big kick-off next week.

York City: Ingham (Mooney 60), McCoy (Parslow 60), Lowe (McCombe 60), Winfield, Straker, Meikle, Penn (Montrose 60), Platt, Murray (Rzonca 46), Coulson (Hirst 66), Jarvis

Goals: Jarvis (56, 69)

Sheffield United: Howard, Alcock (McNulty, 46), Harris, Wallace (Dimaio 36), Basham (McGinn 70), Flynn, Murphy (Doyle 70), Scougall (Butler 70), Baxter (De Girolamo 23), Collins, McGahey (Porter 70)

subs (unused): Willis

Ref: G. Eltringham

Att: 1,761 (992 United)

Video Link: York City 2 Sheffield United 0

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

Writer:Vital York
Date:Saturday August 2 2014
Time: 2:49PM

Login to post a comment

Recent York City Articles

Defender can't wait for weekend showdown

While understandably disappointed that York City are not already safe from relegation, defender Sean Newton is actually grateful they managed to take their season down to the last game.

I would go loopy if we do it - Mills

York City boss Gary Mills hopes to be 'going loopy' alongside the fans at the end of this weekend's massive clash with Forest Green Rovers at Bootham Crescent.

Red Rewind: Everything turns out Moke for York

Five years ago almost to the day, York City beat Forest Green Rovers in their final league game of the season.

Press conference cancelled as survival targeted

York City pulled out of a scheduled FA Trophy final press conference on Thursday lunchtime.

Archived Vital York Articles

Vital York articles from

Site Journalists

Winehouse
Editor email
Profile

Current Poll (see more polls)

Should Sam Muggleton start against Forest Green?
Suggested By: Vital York City
Yes41%
No59%

League Table

# Team P W D L Pts. GD
C Lincoln 45 30 8 7 98 43
2 Tranmere 45 28 8 9 92 39
3 Forest Green 45 25 10 10 85 32
4 Dag & Red 45 26 5 14 83 26
5 Aldershot 45 22 13 10 79 27
6 Dover Athletic 45 23 7 15 76 21
7 Barrow 45 20 15 10 75 20
8 Gateshead 45 19 13 13 70 23
9 Macclesfield 45 20 7 18 67 7
10 Bromley 45 17 8 20 59 -9
11 Maidstone 45 16 10 19 58 -15
12 Sutton 45 15 12 18 57 -2
13 Wrexham 45 15 12 18 57 -14
14 Eastleigh 45 14 14 17 56 -7
15 Boreham Wood 45 14 13 18 55 -1
16 Solihull Moors 45 15 9 21 54 -13
17 Chester 45 14 10 21 52 -6
18 Woking 45 14 10 21 52 -14
19 Torquay 45 13 11 21 50 -9
20 Guiseley 45 13 11 21 50 -17
21 York 45 11 16 18 49 -15
22 Braintree 45 13 9 23 48 -23
R North Ferriby 45 12 3 30 39 -48
R Southport 45 10 8 27 38 -45
Vital Football Comment
Latest F1 News
Latest Vital Boxing News
Write for Vital Football

Recent York City Results (view all)

York City Fixtures (view all)

Apr 29 2017 12:15PM : Forest Green Rovers (H)
Conference National

Vital Members League Table

RankNamePoints
1.VitalYorkCity2
2.RoweyOnTheWing 2
The Vital Football Members League