Vital Football

Latest York City News

Headmaster gives lowdown

Headmaster gives lowdown

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Defender Keith Lowe reflected on becoming York City's first goalscorer of the season during the weekend 1-1 draw at League Two newcomers Tranmere Rovers.

"I was actually disappointed not to score the second one as well" - Keith Lowe
The popular centre-back headed the visitors into a second-half lead to the delight of their massed ranks of supporters and then went very close to extending that advantage.

"I was surprised to get away because I was marked quite well in the first half and I didn't really get near anything," he told The Press. "I was quite far out, I swung my head at it and, luckily, it has ended up in the back of the net. I was delighted with it.

"I was trying to get some power on it because, even if it didn't go straight in, it might deflect off someone and I was actually disappointed not to score the second one as well," Lowe added. "The keeper made a decent save and that could have wrapped it up nicely, but it wasn't to be. I think the second one was actually a better header."

Video Link: Tranmere Rovers 1 York City 1

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

Writer:Vital York
Date:Tuesday August 12 2014
Time: 1:55PM

Best of Vital Network

Login to post a comment

Recent York City Articles

City miss out on target

Former York City loan striker Lewis Alessandra has joined League Two side Hartlepool United.

Young prospect signs on

Youngster Callum Rzonca is the latest player to commit to York City for next season.

City Squad Update

Three more new signings today have taken York City's summer recruitment drive to fourteen.

Mariners play down another swoop

Grimsby Town manager Paul Hurst has played down speculation of a move for York City midfielder James Berrett.

Archived Minstermen.net Articles

Minstermen.net articles from

Site Journalists

Winehouse
Editor email
Profile

Current Poll (see more polls)

What's your minimum required finish under Jackie McNamara this season?
Suggested By: Vital York City
Champions18%
Play-offs60%
Top half16%
Mid-table1%
Lower mid-table1%
Avoid relegation4%

League Table

# Team P W D L Pts. GD
C Cheltenham 46 30 11 5 101 57
2 Forest Green 46 26 11 9 89 27
3 Braintree 46 23 12 11 81 18
4 Grimsby 46 22 14 10 80 37
5 Dover Athletic 46 23 11 12 80 22
6 Tranmere 46 22 12 12 78 17
7 Eastleigh 46 21 12 13 75 11
8 Wrexham 46 20 9 17 69 15
9 Gateshead 46 19 10 17 67 -11
10 Macclesfield 46 19 9 18 66 12
11 Barrow 46 17 14 15 65 -7
12 Woking 46 17 10 19 61 3
13 Lincoln 46 16 13 17 61 1
14 Bromley 46 17 9 20 60 -5
15 Aldershot 46 16 8 22 56 -18
16 Southport 46 14 13 19 55 -13
17 Chester 46 14 12 20 54 -4
18 Torquay 46 13 12 21 51 -22
19 Boreham Wood 46 12 14 20 50 -5
20 Guiseley 46 11 16 19 49 -23
R FC Halifax 46 12 12 22 48 -27
R Altrincham 46 10 14 22 44 -25
R Kidderminster 46 9 13 24 40 -22
R Welling United 46 8 11 27 35 -38
Latest F1 News
Latest Vital Boxing News

Recent York City Results (view all)

York City Fixtures (view all)

Vital Members League Table

RankNamePoints
1.racom4
2.Winehouse1