UK time is: 00:04:35
Vital Login
Social Login

Choose your club

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Football, It's Vital'

Headmaster gives lowdown

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Defender Keith Lowe reflected on becoming York City's first goalscorer of the season during the weekend 1-1 draw at League Two newcomers Tranmere Rovers.

"I was actually disappointed not to score the second one as well" - Keith Lowe
The popular centre-back headed the visitors into a second-half lead to the delight of their massed ranks of supporters and then went very close to extending that advantage.

"I was surprised to get away because I was marked quite well in the first half and I didn't really get near anything," he told The Press. "I was quite far out, I swung my head at it and, luckily, it has ended up in the back of the net. I was delighted with it.

"I was trying to get some power on it because, even if it didn't go straight in, it might deflect off someone and I was actually disappointed not to score the second one as well," Lowe added. "The keeper made a decent save and that could have wrapped it up nicely, but it wasn't to be. I think the second one was actually a better header."

Video Link: Tranmere Rovers 1 York City 1

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate




Use your social login to comment on front page articles. Login using you Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts and have your say!



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

The journalist

Writer: Vital York Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday August 12 2014

Time: 1:55PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent York City Articles

Former player fights for life (Monday December 22 2014)

Chairman delight at tenancy agreement (Monday December 22 2014)

Red Rewind - Reds collide (Monday December 22 2014)

York sign up to new stadium (Monday December 22 2014)

Greening returns to York (Monday December 22 2014)

York City Quizball - Results (Monday December 22 2014)

York City Ladies Quizball - Results (Monday December 22 2014)

City Ladies Reserves held (Sunday December 21 2014)

Fans played their part - Wilcox (Saturday December 20 2014)

Minstermen rally superbly (Saturday December 20 2014)

Archived York City Articles

List All Minstermen.net Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

League Results (view all)

Latest Results
Bury 2 - 2 York
York 2 - 3 Wimbledon
Plymouth 1 - 1 York
Hartlepool 1 - 3 York
York 0 - 1 Oxford
Cheltenham 0 - 1 York

League Table (view table)

Team P W D L GD Pts
18. Cheltenham 21 6 7 8 -10 25
19. Northampton 21 7 3 11 -2 24
20. Dag & Red 21 6 3 12 -9 21
21. Carlisle 21 6 3 12 -13 21
22. York 21 3 11 7 -6 20
23. Tranmere 21 4 7 10 -6 19
24. Hartlepool 21 3 4 14 -24 13

Breaking League News

Former player fights for life
York : 22/12/2014 21:46:00
Southend Edged Out By QPR
Southend : 22/12/2014 19:50:00
Adams Disappointed With Late Leveller
Tranmere : 22/12/2014 19:45:00
Quick Out The Traps
Mansfield : 22/12/2014 19:44:00
Westley - Fortress Lamex Is Returning
Stevenage : 22/12/2014 19:32:00

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who will score more goals this season?
Suggested By:  Vital York
Wes Fletcher 28%
Jake Hyde 72%