York City - Headmaster gives lowdown
UK time is: 00:19:10
Vital Login
Social Login

Choose your club

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Football, It's Vital'

Headmaster gives lowdown

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Defender Keith Lowe reflected on becoming York City's first goalscorer of the season during the weekend 1-1 draw at League Two newcomers Tranmere Rovers.

"I was actually disappointed not to score the second one as well" - Keith Lowe
The popular centre-back headed the visitors into a second-half lead to the delight of their massed ranks of supporters and then went very close to extending that advantage.

"I was surprised to get away because I was marked quite well in the first half and I didn't really get near anything," he told The Press. "I was quite far out, I swung my head at it and, luckily, it has ended up in the back of the net. I was delighted with it.

"I was trying to get some power on it because, even if it didn't go straight in, it might deflect off someone and I was actually disappointed not to score the second one as well," Lowe added. "The keeper made a decent save and that could have wrapped it up nicely, but it wasn't to be. I think the second one was actually a better header."

Video Link: Tranmere Rovers 1 York City 1

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate




Use your social login to comment on front page articles. Login using you Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts and have your say!



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

The journalist

Writer: Vital York Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday August 12 2014

Time: 1:55PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent York City Articles

Newcomer can't wait to start (Monday August 3 2015)

Wilcox relieved to land target (Monday August 3 2015)

YORK CITY SIGN STRIKER (Monday August 3 2015)

An Evening with Russ Wilcox (Monday August 3 2015)

Numbers game (Monday August 3 2015)

Minstermen receive bye (Monday August 3 2015)

Weak finish a real concern (Sunday August 2 2015)

Former striker nets on debut (Saturday August 1 2015)

Final defeat for Minstermen (Saturday August 1 2015)

Archived York City Articles

List All Minstermen.net Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

League Results (view all)

Latest Results

League Table (view table)

Team P W D L GD Pts
18. Plymouth 0 0 0 0 0 0
19. Portsmouth 0 0 0 0 0 0
20. Stevenage 0 0 0 0 0 0
21. Wimbledon 0 0 0 0 0 0
22. Wycombe 0 0 0 0 0 0
23. Yeovil 0 0 0 0 0 0
24. York 0 0 0 0 0 0

York City Fixtures (view all)

Breaking League News

Ref For AFC Wimbledon v Argyle
Plymouth : 03/08/2015 23:58:00
Pools Beaten At The Vic
Hartlepool : 03/08/2015 20:10:01
Crawley Lose At Whitehawk
Crawley : 03/08/2015 20:01:01
Young Hatters Keeper goes off on Loan
Luton : 03/08/2015 18:41:01
Newcomer can't wait to start
York : 03/08/2015 17:28:00

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

How will City fare compared to last season?
Suggested By:  Vital York City
Much better 20%
Slight improvement 37%
About the same 25%
Worse 18%