Vital Football

Latest York City News

Headmaster gives lowdown

Headmaster gives lowdown

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Defender Keith Lowe reflected on becoming York City's first goalscorer of the season during the weekend 1-1 draw at League Two newcomers Tranmere Rovers.

"I was actually disappointed not to score the second one as well" - Keith Lowe
The popular centre-back headed the visitors into a second-half lead to the delight of their massed ranks of supporters and then went very close to extending that advantage.

"I was surprised to get away because I was marked quite well in the first half and I didn't really get near anything," he told The Press. "I was quite far out, I swung my head at it and, luckily, it has ended up in the back of the net. I was delighted with it.

"I was trying to get some power on it because, even if it didn't go straight in, it might deflect off someone and I was actually disappointed not to score the second one as well," Lowe added. "The keeper made a decent save and that could have wrapped it up nicely, but it wasn't to be. I think the second one was actually a better header."

Video Link: Tranmere Rovers 1 York City 1

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

Writer:Vital York
Date:Tuesday August 12 2014
Time: 1:55PM

Login to post a comment

Best of Vital Network

Recent York City Articles

Wembley hero moving forward on a high

Wembley hero Hamza Bencherif is ready to take the positivity of a second successive FA Trophy final winners' medal into the new season.

York City Ladies Reserves - Review 2016-17

York City Ladies Reserves continue to literally reach new heights, despite it being only their second season at the higher level following their unbeaten title-winning campain.

Former Wembley winner moves on

Former York City left-back James Meredith has agreed a two-year deal with Championship newcomers Millwall.

Former striker joins rivals

Former York City striker Adam Boyes has joined National League North rivals Bradford Park Avenue on a two-year deal.

Archived Vital York Articles

Vital York articles from

Site Journalists

Winehouse
Editor email
Profile

Current Poll (see more polls)

How many goals do you expect Jon Parkin to score next season?
Suggested By: Vital York City
Over 3031%
26-3020%
21-2517%
16-2013%
10-154%
Under 1015%

League Table

# Team P W D L Pts. GD
C Lincoln 46 30 9 7 99 43
2 Tranmere 46 29 8 9 95 40
3 Forest Green 46 25 11 10 86 32
4 Dag & Red 46 26 6 14 84 26
5 Aldershot 46 23 13 10 82 29
6 Dover Athletic 46 24 7 15 79 22
7 Barrow 46 20 15 11 75 19
8 Gateshead 46 19 13 14 70 21
9 Macclesfield 46 20 8 18 68 7
10 Bromley 46 18 8 20 62 -7
11 Boreham Wood 46 15 13 18 58 1
12 Sutton 46 15 13 18 58 -2
13 Wrexham 46 15 13 18 58 -14
14 Maidstone 46 16 10 20 58 -16
15 Eastleigh 46 14 15 17 57 -7
16 Solihull Moors 46 15 10 21 55 -13
17 Torquay 46 14 11 21 53 -7
18 Woking 46 14 11 21 53 -14
19 Chester 46 14 10 22 52 -8
20 Guiseley 46 13 12 21 51 -17
R York 46 11 17 18 50 -15
R Braintree 46 13 9 24 48 -25
R Southport 46 10 9 27 39 -45
R North Ferriby 46 12 3 31 39 -50
The Vital Football Members League
Latest F1 News
Latest Vital Boxing News
Vital Football Comment

Recent York City Results (view all)

York City Fixtures (view all)

Vital Members League Table

RankNamePoints
1.VitalYorkCity6
Write for Vital Football