Vital Football

Latest York City News

Headmaster gives lowdown

Headmaster gives lowdown

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Defender Keith Lowe reflected on becoming York City's first goalscorer of the season during the weekend 1-1 draw at League Two newcomers Tranmere Rovers.

"I was actually disappointed not to score the second one as well" - Keith Lowe
The popular centre-back headed the visitors into a second-half lead to the delight of their massed ranks of supporters and then went very close to extending that advantage.

"I was surprised to get away because I was marked quite well in the first half and I didn't really get near anything," he told The Press. "I was quite far out, I swung my head at it and, luckily, it has ended up in the back of the net. I was delighted with it.

"I was trying to get some power on it because, even if it didn't go straight in, it might deflect off someone and I was actually disappointed not to score the second one as well," Lowe added. "The keeper made a decent save and that could have wrapped it up nicely, but it wasn't to be. I think the second one was actually a better header."

Video Link: Tranmere Rovers 1 York City 1

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

Writer:Vital York
Date:Tuesday August 12 2014
Time: 1:55PM

Login to post a comment

Recent York City Articles

Mills wants more from winger

Manager Gary Mills has told forward Daniel Nti to improve his levels after returning from a recent loan spell at FC Halifax Town.

Defender again missing

York City's converted defender Yan Klukowski is once again ruled out for the arrival of Gateshead to Bootham Crescent on Tuesday evening.

Duo banned after Barrow attack

Two Barrow teenagers responsible for attacking York City supporters last year have been given five-year football banning orders.

Video: Vanarama National League Highlights

Weekend action from the Vanarama National League as York City once again fail to build upon an early lead at Boreham Wood.

Archived Vital York Articles

Vital York articles from

Site Journalists

Winehouse
Editor email
Profile

Current Poll (see more polls)

Who should replace Simon Lappin in the middle?
Suggested By: Vital York City
Simon Heslop10%
Adriano Moke65%
Danny Holmes0%
Daniel Parslow3%
Lanre Oyebanjo7%
A new signing15%

League Table

# Team P W D L Pts. GD
1 Lincoln 30 20 4 6 64 30
2 Dag & Red 32 19 4 9 61 21
3 Forest Green 32 17 9 6 60 25
4 Tranmere 31 18 6 7 60 19
5 Dover Athletic 32 17 5 10 56 16
6 Barrow 32 14 12 6 54 18
7 Aldershot 33 15 9 9 54 12
8 Gateshead 33 14 10 9 52 20
9 Macclesfield 31 15 5 11 50 13
10 Wrexham 34 12 10 12 46 -8
11 Bromley 32 13 6 13 45 -4
12 Chester 33 11 10 12 43 4
13 Boreham Wood 32 11 10 11 43 2
14 Solihull Moors 33 12 7 14 43 -3
15 Eastleigh 32 10 12 10 42 2
16 Braintree 32 10 7 15 37 -16
17 Sutton 30 10 6 14 36 -9
18 Torquay 33 9 8 16 35 -9
19 Guiseley 33 9 8 16 35 -12
20 Woking 33 9 7 17 34 -15
21 Maidstone 33 9 6 18 33 -23
22 Southport 33 8 7 18 31 -32
23 York 32 5 13 14 28 -20
24 North Ferriby 33 8 3 22 27 -31
The Vital Football Members League
Latest F1 News
Latest Vital Boxing News
Vital Football Comment

Recent York City Results (view all)

York City Fixtures (view all)

Feb 21 2017 7:45PM : Gateshead (H)
Conference National
Feb 28 2017 7:45PM : Lincoln City (a)
Conference National
Mar 4 2017 3:00PM : Eastleigh (H)
Conference National
Mar 7 2017 7:45PM : Macclesfield Town (a)
Conference National
Mar 11 2017 3:00PM : Sutton United (a)
Conference National
Mar 18 2017 3:00PM : Bromley (H)
Conference National

Vital Members League Table

RankNamePoints
1.VitalYorkCity8
2.Blake61
3.ceriog9091
4.addo1231
Write for Vital Football