Vital Football

Latest York City News

Fate cruel on City

Fate cruel on City

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

York City were once again reminded just how cruel football can be when conceding an injury-time goal for the second consecutive game against Doncaster Rovers at Bootham Crescent.

"Over the last two games, it shows you how cruel the game of football can be" - Nigel Worthington
The Minstermen were in charge for much of their Capital One Cup tie until lively substitute Harry Forrester snatched an undeserved winner for the visitors in added-time.

It followed unlucky York also being denied very late on in their opening day weekend draw at Tranmere Rovers.

"It is a disappointing smash and grab," manager Nigel Worthington told The Press. "Over the course of the game we did extremely well. We passed the ball really well and played some really good stuff.

"Over the last two games, it shows you how cruel the game of football can be. We have to live with that," he added. "Obviously the players are disappointed. They put in a lot of hard work. The shape of the team was very good and everyone knew their role."

Further problems for Worthington witnessed Ryan Jarvis becoming the third striker likely to be sidelined - with suspected ankle ligament damage.

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!

FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate

Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

Writer:Vital York
Date:Tuesday August 12 2014
Time: 11:57PM

Login to post a comment

Recent York City Articles

Video: London Genesis 1 York City Futsal 3

York City Futsal gave their National Super League hopes a massive boost with a recent 3-1 victory at bottom of the table London Genesis.

York City Futsal 3 Sheffield Futsal 1

Daniel Pedras scored twice as York City Futsal defeated Sheffield Futsal 3-1 in their FA Futsal Cup tie at the YorkSport Arena.

Poppleton Ladies P-P York City Ladies

York City Ladies' County Cup semi-final at Poppleton Ladies has been postponed due to a frozen pitch.

Poppleton Ladies v York City Ladies

Record seven-times winners York City Ladies are in County Cup semi-final action this weekend when visiting neighbours Poppleton Ladies on Sunday afternoon (kick-off 2.00pm).

York City Archived Articles

Vital York articles from

Site Journalists

Editor email

Current Poll (see more polls)

How will you now vote at the Trust SGM regarding a share transfer?
Suggested By: Vital York City
For - transfer to Jason McGill 69%
Against - retain 25% shareholding31%
The Vital Football Members League
Latest F1 News
Latest Vital Boxing News
Vital Football Comment

Recent York City Results (view all)

Write for Vital Football