UK time is: 20:50:46
Vital Login
Social Login

Choose your club

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Football, It's Vital'

Fate cruel on City

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

York City were once again reminded just how cruel football can be when conceding an injury-time goal for the second consecutive game against Doncaster Rovers at Bootham Crescent.

"Over the last two games, it shows you how cruel the game of football can be" - Nigel Worthington
The Minstermen were in charge for much of their Capital One Cup tie until lively substitute Harry Forrester snatched an undeserved winner for the visitors in added-time.

It followed unlucky York also being denied very late on in their opening day weekend draw at Tranmere Rovers.

"It is a disappointing smash and grab," manager Nigel Worthington told The Press. "Over the course of the game we did extremely well. We passed the ball really well and played some really good stuff.

"Over the last two games, it shows you how cruel the game of football can be. We have to live with that," he added. "Obviously the players are disappointed. They put in a lot of hard work. The shape of the team was very good and everyone knew their role."

Further problems for Worthington witnessed Ryan Jarvis becoming the third striker likely to be sidelined - with suspected ankle ligament damage.

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate




Use your social login to comment on front page articles. Login using you Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts and have your say!



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

The journalist

Writer: Vital York Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday August 12 2014

Time: 11:57PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent York City Articles

Former defender joins Rovers (Friday September 19 2014)

Nothing in reserve (Friday September 19 2014)

Former play-off rivals meet (Friday September 19 2014)

Greening joins brother (Thursday September 18 2014)

No move just yet (Thursday September 18 2014)

Familiar face for defender (Thursday September 18 2014)

Brown seeks hat-trick (Thursday September 18 2014)

Defender joins Mariners (Thursday September 18 2014)

Q&A with Nigel Worthington (Thursday September 18 2014)

Worthington slams display (Wednesday September 17 2014)

Archived York City Articles

List All Minstermen.net Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

League Results (view all)

Latest Results
York 2 - 2 Cambridge
York 0 - 0 Wycombe
York 1 - 1 Northampton
York 0 - 0 Luton
Burton 2 - 0 York
Exeter 1 - 1 York

League Table (view table)

Team P W D L GD Pts
13. Plymouth 8 3 1 4 2 10
14. Stevenage 8 3 1 4 -3 10
15. Tranmere 8 2 3 3 0 9
16. York 8 1 6 1 -1 9
17. Luton 8 2 3 3 -2 9
18. Newport 7 2 2 3 -2 8
19. Dag & Red 8 2 1 5 -6 7

Breaking League News

Former defender joins Rovers
York : 19/09/2014 20:32:00
Davies Joins On Loan
Tranmere : 19/09/2014 20:00:00
Coleman Makes Two Signings
Accrington : 19/09/2014 19:52:00
Coleman Returns As Manager
Accrington : 19/09/2014 19:46:00
#PompeyPredictionsLeague - Update no.8
Portsmouth : 19/09/2014 19:00:00

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Which area is a priority to strengthen?
Suggested By:  Vital York
Goalkeeper 24%
Defender 0%
Midfielder 53%
Winger 0%
Striker 23%