Vital Football

Latest York City News

Fate cruel on City

Fate cruel on City

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

York City were once again reminded just how cruel football can be when conceding an injury-time goal for the second consecutive game against Doncaster Rovers at Bootham Crescent.

"Over the last two games, it shows you how cruel the game of football can be" - Nigel Worthington
The Minstermen were in charge for much of their Capital One Cup tie until lively substitute Harry Forrester snatched an undeserved winner for the visitors in added-time.

It followed unlucky York also being denied very late on in their opening day weekend draw at Tranmere Rovers.

"It is a disappointing smash and grab," manager Nigel Worthington told The Press. "Over the course of the game we did extremely well. We passed the ball really well and played some really good stuff.

"Over the last two games, it shows you how cruel the game of football can be. We have to live with that," he added. "Obviously the players are disappointed. They put in a lot of hard work. The shape of the team was very good and everyone knew their role."

Further problems for Worthington witnessed Ryan Jarvis becoming the third striker likely to be sidelined - with suspected ankle ligament damage.

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

Writer:Vital York
Date:Tuesday August 12 2014
Time: 11:57PM

Login to post a comment

Recent York City Articles

Audio: We were sloppy - McNamara

Manager Jackie McNamara admitted his side simply hadn't done enough following their latest 2-1 defeat at Wrexham.

Audio: Not much in it - Letheren

York City goalkeeper Kyle Letheren felt there was precious little to choose between the two sides at the Racecourse Ground.

Stats: Wrexham v York City

All the stats from Wrexham (2) vs (1) York City, Racecourse Ground, Mon 29th Aug 3.00pm Att: 4,005

Wrexham 2 York City 1

York City remain without an away win in almost a year following a 2-1 defeat to former manager Gary Mills' Wrexham at the Racecourse Ground.

Summer recruit John Rooney converted an early penalty after Matt Fry was adjudged to have fouled Paul Rutherford inside the area. But Richard Brodie struck for the fourth successive game to equalise before the break.

However, captain Sean Newton headed the Welsh side back in front with over an hour played as the visitors failed to rediscover a

Archived Minstermen.net Articles

Minstermen.net articles from

Site Journalists

Winehouse
Editor email
Profile

Current Poll (see more polls)

Who will finish as leading goalscorer?
Suggested By: Vital York City
Scott Fenwick20%
Richard Brodie56%
Reece Thompson12%
Daniel Nti 6%
Aidan Connolly 0%
Yan Klukowski0%
Jack Higgins6%
Kaine Felix0%

League Table

# Team P W D L Pts. GD
1 Tranmere 7 6 1 0 19 8
2 Forest Green 7 5 1 1 16 9
3 Lincoln 7 5 0 2 15 12
4 Dag & Red 7 5 0 2 15 7
5 Aldershot 7 4 1 2 13 3
6 Sutton 7 4 1 2 13 1
7 Barrow 7 4 1 2 13 0
8 Macclesfield 7 4 0 3 12 3
9 Eastleigh 7 3 2 2 11 5
10 Wrexham 7 3 2 2 11 -2
11 Gateshead 7 3 1 3 10 6
12 Dover Athletic 7 3 1 3 10 1
13 Solihull Moors 7 3 1 3 10 0
14 Maidstone 7 3 1 3 10 -1
15 Torquay 7 3 1 3 10 -1
16 Boreham Wood 7 2 3 2 9 2
17 York 7 2 2 3 8 -3
18 Chester 7 2 1 4 7 -1
19 Bromley 7 2 1 4 7 -5
20 North Ferriby 7 2 1 4 7 -8
21 Braintree 7 1 2 4 5 -4
22 Woking 7 1 1 5 4 -7
23 Southport 7 1 1 5 4 -15
24 Guiseley 7 0 0 7 0 -10
Latest F1 News
Latest Vital Boxing News

Recent York City Results (view all)

York City Fixtures (view all)