Vital Football

Latest York City News

Front pair waiting to fire

Front pair waiting to fire

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Returning hit-man Wes Fletcher believes he can forge an excellent attacking partnership with summer arrival Jake Hyde.

"Once we are both fully fit and firing hopefully we can make a good partnership" - Wes Fletcher
Both are on the way back from recent injuries but it didn't stop the pair from each being on the mark during the midweek draw with Cambridge United.
The highly-rated duo are yet to appear on the pitch at the same time for the Minstermen.

"We have both got to get fit first," Fletcher told The Press. "Hydey hasn't been playing full games, because he's coming back as well due to a few niggles. Once we are both fully fit and firing hopefully we can make a good partnership.

"He's a bit like me in that he likes to play little balls around corners and I think that could lead to some good play in and around the box."

Meanwhile, Fletcher is already looking to surpass last season's tally of thirteen goals during an injury-shortened campaign.

"I don't normally set a number but I would love to get more than I scored last season," he added. "Twenty would be an obvious target too, so as close to that or more would be very good."

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

Writer:Vital York
Date:Friday August 22 2014
Time: 1:08PM

Login to post a comment

Recent York City Articles

Video: York City 1 Kidderminster Harriers 1

York City were rather fortunate to take a point against an impressive Kidderminster Harriers at Bootham Crescent.

Castleford White Rose Women 0 York City Ladies 2

York City Ladies made it consecutive victories after recording an important league double at Castleford White Rose Women.

Video: An important point - Gray

Manager Martin Gray believes the 1-1 draw with Kidderminster Harriers could yet turn into a very important point for York City come the end of the season.

York City 1 Kidderminster Harriers 1

York City produced another well-below-par performance in a 1-1 draw with a decent Kidderminster Harriers side at Bootham Crescent and continue to slip further behind the leaders.

Skipper Ryan Croasdale had earned the visitors a deserved advantage midway through the opening half, but leading goalscorer Jon Parkin's superb free-kick cancelled it out before the interval.

Manager Martin Gray earlier named an unchanged starting line-up with the returning Tyler Walton replacing Theo Wha

Archived Vital York Articles

Vital York articles from

Site Journalists

Winehouse
Editor email
Profile

Current Poll (see more polls)

Can York City really consider leaving out Jon Parkin?
Suggested By: Vital York City
Yes17%
No83%
The Vital Football Members League
Latest F1 News
Latest Vital Boxing News
Vital Football Comment

Recent York City Results (view all)

York City Fixtures (view all)

Vital Members League Table

RankNamePoints
1.Yorkshire Bear4
2.VitalYorkCity1
Write for Vital Football