Vital Football

Latest York City News

Front pair waiting to fire

Front pair waiting to fire

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Returning hit-man Wes Fletcher believes he can forge an excellent attacking partnership with summer arrival Jake Hyde.

"Once we are both fully fit and firing hopefully we can make a good partnership" - Wes Fletcher
Both are on the way back from recent injuries but it didn't stop the pair from each being on the mark during the midweek draw with Cambridge United.
The highly-rated duo are yet to appear on the pitch at the same time for the Minstermen.

"We have both got to get fit first," Fletcher told The Press. "Hydey hasn't been playing full games, because he's coming back as well due to a few niggles. Once we are both fully fit and firing hopefully we can make a good partnership.

"He's a bit like me in that he likes to play little balls around corners and I think that could lead to some good play in and around the box."

Meanwhile, Fletcher is already looking to surpass last season's tally of thirteen goals during an injury-shortened campaign.

"I don't normally set a number but I would love to get more than I scored last season," he added. "Twenty would be an obvious target too, so as close to that or more would be very good."

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate

Win FREE pizza with Vital Football!
Select your team and get 50% off if they score twice.
www.papajohns.co.uk/football



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

Writer:Vital York
Date:Friday August 22 2014
Time: 1:08PM

Login to post a comment

Recent York City Articles

McNamara plans changes

York City manager Jackie McNamara will make changes for their final day visit to Morecambe.

Belles set for ninth successive away trip

York City Ladies will incredibly be playing a ninth successive away league game when visiting Boldon Ladies this weekend.

Wonderful Leicester a true symbol of hope

Newly-crowned Premier League champions Leicester City have only come into direct battle three times with our own fair city of York.

Match Day Officials v Morecambe (7/5/16)

The Football League have now announced the Match Day officials that will take charge of the game against Morecambe this weekend.

Archived Minstermen.net Articles

Minstermen.net articles from
As featured on NewsNow: Real Madrid news
Real Madrid News 24/7  

Site Journalists

Winehouse
Editor email
Profile

Current Poll (see more polls)

Will you continue to watch York City under Jackie McNamara next season?
Suggested By: Vital York City
Yes50%
No50%

League Table

# Team P W D L Pts. GD
C Northampton 45 28 12 5 96 35
2 Accrington 45 24 12 9 84 26
3 Oxford 45 23 14 8 83 40
4 Bristol Rovers 45 25 7 13 82 30
5 Portsmouth 45 21 15 9 78 32
6 Plymouth 45 23 9 13 78 21
7 Wimbledon 45 20 12 13 72 13
8 Cambridge 45 18 13 14 67 11
9 Leyton Orient 45 18 12 15 66 -2
10 Wycombe 45 17 13 15 64 4
11 Exeter 45 17 13 15 64 1
12 Carlisle 45 16 16 13 64 0
13 Mansfield 45 17 12 16 63 8
14 Luton 45 18 9 18 63 -1
15 Barnet 45 16 11 18 59 -4
16 Hartlepool 45 15 6 24 51 -18
17 Notts County 45 14 9 22 51 -24
18 Yeovil 45 11 15 19 48 -15
19 Stevenage 45 11 14 20 47 -15
20 Crawley 45 13 8 24 47 -30
21 Morecambe 45 12 9 24 45 -22
22 Newport 45 10 13 22 43 -20
R Dag & Red 45 8 10 27 34 -34
R York 45 7 12 26 33 -36
Latest F1 News
Latest Vital Boxing News

Recent York City Results (view all)

York City Fixtures (view all)

May 7 2016 3:00PM : Morecambe (a)
Sky Bet League Two