Vital Football

Latest York City News

Front pair waiting to fire

Front pair waiting to fire

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Returning hit-man Wes Fletcher believes he can forge an excellent attacking partnership with summer arrival Jake Hyde.

"Once we are both fully fit and firing hopefully we can make a good partnership" - Wes Fletcher
Both are on the way back from recent injuries but it didn't stop the pair from each being on the mark during the midweek draw with Cambridge United.
The highly-rated duo are yet to appear on the pitch at the same time for the Minstermen.

"We have both got to get fit first," Fletcher told The Press. "Hydey hasn't been playing full games, because he's coming back as well due to a few niggles. Once we are both fully fit and firing hopefully we can make a good partnership.

"He's a bit like me in that he likes to play little balls around corners and I think that could lead to some good play in and around the box."

Meanwhile, Fletcher is already looking to surpass last season's tally of thirteen goals during an injury-shortened campaign.

"I don't normally set a number but I would love to get more than I scored last season," he added. "Twenty would be an obvious target too, so as close to that or more would be very good."

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

Writer:Vital York
Date:Friday August 22 2014
Time: 1:08PM

Best of Vital Network

Vital F1 - Blog: Spa Preview

Login to post a comment

Recent York City Articles

Strike duo join fans

Supporters group the East Riding Minstermen hold their latest meeting this week.

Red Rewind: Reds fall foul to Cards

York City host Woking this weekend and certainly won't want any repeat of a simply manic clash between the two sides at Bootham Crescent in April 2008.

Big Ben strikes on debut

Former York City midfielder Ben Godfrey scored on his Norwich City debut in their 6-1 League Cup victory against Coventry City.

York City suspend Flinders

York City have confirmed the suspension from the club of goalkeeper Scott Flinders with immediate effect.

Archived Minstermen.net Articles

Minstermen.net articles from

Site Journalists

Winehouse
Editor email
Profile

Current Poll (see more polls)

Who's your stand-out newcomer from the first couple of games?
Suggested By: Vital York City
Shaun Rooney6%
Alex Whittle6%
Ben Clappison1%
Jack Higgins3%
Matt Fry3%
Simon Heslop8%
Clovis Kamdjo4%
Yan Klukowski4%
Aidan Connolly61%
Scott Fenwick4%

League Table

# Team P W D L Pts. GD
1 Tranmere 5 5 0 0 15 7
2 Dag & Red 5 4 0 1 12 5
3 Sutton 5 3 1 1 10 4
4 Dover Athletic 5 3 1 1 10 3
5 Solihull Moors 5 3 1 1 10 3
6 Forest Green 5 3 1 1 10 2
7 Gateshead 5 3 0 2 9 9
8 Lincoln 5 3 0 2 9 8
9 Macclesfield 5 3 0 2 9 3
10 Boreham Wood 5 2 2 1 8 3
11 Wrexham 5 2 2 1 8 0
12 Maidstone 5 2 1 2 7 1
13 Aldershot 5 2 1 2 7 0
14 Barrow 5 2 1 2 7 -2
15 North Ferriby 5 2 1 2 7 -5
16 Braintree 5 1 2 2 5 -1
17 Eastleigh 5 1 2 2 5 -2
18 York 5 1 2 2 5 -5
19 Chester 5 1 1 3 4 -3
20 Bromley 5 1 1 3 4 -3
21 Torquay 5 1 1 3 4 -4
22 Southport 5 1 0 4 3 -11
23 Woking 5 0 1 4 1 -6
24 Guiseley 5 0 0 5 0 -6
Latest F1 News
Latest Vital Boxing News

Recent York City Results (view all)

York City Fixtures (view all)