Vital Football

Latest York City News

Front pair waiting to fire

Front pair waiting to fire

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Returning hit-man Wes Fletcher believes he can forge an excellent attacking partnership with summer arrival Jake Hyde.

"Once we are both fully fit and firing hopefully we can make a good partnership" - Wes Fletcher
Both are on the way back from recent injuries but it didn't stop the pair from each being on the mark during the midweek draw with Cambridge United.
The highly-rated duo are yet to appear on the pitch at the same time for the Minstermen.

"We have both got to get fit first," Fletcher told The Press. "Hydey hasn't been playing full games, because he's coming back as well due to a few niggles. Once we are both fully fit and firing hopefully we can make a good partnership.

"He's a bit like me in that he likes to play little balls around corners and I think that could lead to some good play in and around the box."

Meanwhile, Fletcher is already looking to surpass last season's tally of thirteen goals during an injury-shortened campaign.

"I don't normally set a number but I would love to get more than I scored last season," he added. "Twenty would be an obvious target too, so as close to that or more would be very good."

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

Writer:Vital York
Date:Friday August 22 2014
Time: 1:08PM

Login to post a comment

Recent York City Articles

Harding treble inspires Belles fightback

Ellie Harding netted a superb hat-trick as York City Ladies recovered from two-goals down to complete a tremendous 4-3 victory against Boldon Ladies at St John's, Haxby Road.

City unlikely to appeal

Manager Jackie McNamara is unlikely to appeal against the sending-off of on loan full-back Luke Hendrie despite considering the punishment harsh.

Striker set for debut

Striker Derek Riordan should finally make his debut when York City visit Guisborough in the North Riding Senior Cup on Tuesday evening

Defeat leaves City still in trouble

York City remain deep in trouble at the bottom of the table following a 2-0 defeat to leaders Northampton Town at Sixfields.

Archived Minstermen.net Articles

Minstermen.net articles from

Site Journalists

Winehouse
Profile

Current Poll (see more polls)

How do you rate the current transfer window?
Suggested By: Vital York City
Good13%
Bad58%
Indifferent 15%
Wait - I'm still hopeful14%

League Table

# Team P W D L Pts. GD
1 Northampton 28 19 4 5 61 20
2 Plymouth 29 17 5 7 56 17
3 Oxford 27 14 9 4 51 19
4 Bristol Rovers 29 14 5 10 47 10
5 Mansfield 30 13 8 9 47 9
6 Leyton Orient 30 12 10 8 46 5
7 Portsmouth 28 11 12 5 45 20
8 Accrington 26 13 6 7 45 12
9 Cambridge 30 12 8 10 44 3
10 Wycombe 28 12 7 9 43 5
11 Wimbledon 28 11 9 8 42 7
12 Carlisle 26 11 9 6 42 5
13 Exeter 28 11 7 10 40 -1
14 Luton 30 10 8 12 38 1
15 Crawley 30 11 4 15 37 -13
16 Morecambe 30 10 6 14 36 -3
17 Notts County 27 10 6 11 36 -6
18 Barnet 28 9 6 13 33 -8
19 Stevenage 30 6 10 14 28 -15
20 Newport 28 6 9 13 27 -11
21 Yeovil 29 5 9 15 24 -14
22 Hartlepool 25 7 3 15 24 -18
23 Dag & Red 28 4 8 16 20 -21
24 York 28 4 8 16 20 -23
Latest F1 News
Latest Vital Boxing News

York City Fixtures (view all)

Feb 13 2016 3:00PM : Notts County (H)
Sky Bet League Two
Feb 16 2016 7:45PM : Exeter City (H)
Sky Bet League Two
Feb 20 2016 3:00PM : Cambridge United (a)
Sky Bet League Two
Feb 23 2016 7:45PM : Northampton Town (H)
Sky Bet League Two
Feb 27 2016 3:00PM : Luton Town (H)
Sky Bet League Two
Mar 1 2016 7:45PM : Oxford United (a)
Sky Bet League Two

Recent York City Results (view all)