UK time is: 00:07:49
Vital Login
Social Login

Choose your club

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Football, It's Vital'

York a handful - Wilson

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Barnsley manager Danny Wilson admitted it had been far from easy following their 2-0 victory against York City in the Johnstone's Paint Trophy.

"I have to say it was very difficult, particularly the first 45 minutes" - Danny Wilson
On loan Manchester City striker Devante Cole and substitute Kane Hemmings both scored second-half goals but only after
the visitors had been much the better side during the opening forty-five minutes.

"I have to say it was very difficult, particularly the first 45 minutes as York played very, very well," Wilson told Barnsley's official website. "They got us on our back foot and pressed us really well. They had a couple of good chances - maybe half chances as such - but they got in between us a few times.

"We could have been one or two behind but we weren't," he conceded. "We did some good defending but they had one or two shots that went off target. If it'd have been 1-0 tonight I would have settled for it. The way Nigel's got his team playing, it's a very good result for us in the end."

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate




Use your social login to comment on front page articles. Login using you Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts and have your say!



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

The journalist

Writer: Vital York Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday September 2 2014

Time: 11:36PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent York City Articles

Keeper extends loan (Monday November 24 2014)

High fives for City Ladies (Sunday November 23 2014)

Twin striker hunt for Wilcox (Saturday November 22 2014)

Wilcox praises courage (Saturday November 22 2014)

Wilcox hails 'huge' win (Saturday November 22 2014)

Lowe heads City fightback (Saturday November 22 2014)

Stats: Hartlepool United v York City (Saturday November 22 2014)

Clough confirms Diego to York (Saturday November 22 2014)

Diego set for York return (Friday November 21 2014)

Last win during golden era (Friday November 21 2014)

Archived York City Articles

List All Minstermen.net Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

League Results (view all)

Latest Results
York 0 - 0 Wycombe
Burton 2 - 0 York
Exeter 1 - 1 York
Morecambe 1 - 1 York
Dag & Red 2 - 0 York
Cheltenham 0 - 1 York

League Table (view table)

Team P W D L GD Pts
17. Mansfield 18 6 4 8 -6 22
18. Cheltenham 18 6 4 8 -10 22
19. Oxford 18 5 5 8 -4 20
20. York 18 3 9 6 -5 18
21. Dag & Red 18 5 3 10 -7 18
22. Carlisle 18 5 3 10 -11 18
23. Tranmere 18 2 6 10 -9 12

Breaking League News

Mansfield 1-0 Plymouth Argyle
Mansfield : 24/11/2014 22:29:00
Hartlepool 1-3 York City
Hartlepool : 24/11/2014 22:16:00
Duo Depart
Hartlepool : 24/11/2014 20:02:00
Ironside Added
Hartlepool : 24/11/2014 19:56:00
The worry beads are on ............
Hartlepool : 24/11/2014 18:22:00

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Have York City appointed the right man in Russ Wilcox?
Suggested By:  Vital York
Yes 60%
No 40%