Vital Football

Latest York City News

York a handful - Wilson

York a handful - Wilson

<div style='background-color: #CC0033;'><a href='http://www.rsspump.com/?web_widget/rss_ticker/news_widget' title='News Widget'>News Widget</a></div>

Barnsley manager Danny Wilson admitted it had been far from easy following their 2-0 victory against York City in the Johnstone's Paint Trophy.

"I have to say it was very difficult, particularly the first 45 minutes" - Danny Wilson
On loan Manchester City striker Devante Cole and substitute Kane Hemmings both scored second-half goals but only after
the visitors had been much the better side during the opening forty-five minutes.

"I have to say it was very difficult, particularly the first 45 minutes as York played very, very well," Wilson told Barnsley's official website. "They got us on our back foot and pressed us really well. They had a couple of good chances - maybe half chances as such - but they got in between us a few times.

"We could have been one or two behind but we weren't," he conceded. "We did some good defending but they had one or two shots that went off target. If it'd have been 1-0 tonight I would have settled for it. The way Nigel's got his team playing, it's a very good result for us in the end."

You can now use your social login to comment on our front page articles using your Facebook, Twitter, Google or LinkedIn accounts!




FIXTURES 2014-15: Sat 09 Aug: Tranmere Rovers (A); Sat 16 Aug: Northampton Town (H); Tue 19 Aug: Cambridge United (H); Sat 23 Aug: Exeter City (A); Sat 30 Aug: Wycombe Wanderers (H); Sat 06 Sep: Stevenage (A); Sat 13 Sep: Burton Albion (A); Tue 16 Sep: Luton Town (H); Sat 20 Sep: Southend United (H); Sat 27 Sep: Dagenham & Redbridge (A); Sat 04 Oct: Portsmouth (H); Sat 11 Oct: Newport County (A); Sat 18 Oct: Shrewsbury Town (H); Tue 21 Oct: Morecambe (A); Sat 25 Oct: Mansfield Town (H); Sat 01 Nov: Cheltenham Town (A); Sat 15 Nov: Oxford United (H); Sat 22 Nov: Hartlepool United (A); Sat 29 Nov: Plymouth Argyle (A); Sat 13 Dec: AFC Wimbledon (H); Sat 20 Dec: Bury (A); Fri 26 Dec: Accrington Stanley (H); Sun 28 Dec: Carlisle United (A); Sat 03 Jan: Plymouth Argyle (H); Sat 10 Jan: Wycombe Wanderers (A); Sat 17 Jan: Stevenage (H); Sat 24 Jan: Burton Albion (H); Sat 31 Jan: Southend United (A); Sat 07 Feb: Dagenham & Redbridge (H); Tue 10 Feb: Luton Town (A); Sat 14 Feb: Tranmere Rovers (H); Sat 21 Feb: Northampton Town (A); Sat 28 Feb: Exeter City (H); Tue 03 Mar: Cambridge United (A); Sat 07 Mar: AFC Wimbledon (A); Sat 14 Mar: Carlisle United (H); Tue 17 Mar: Bury (H); Sat 21 Mar: Accrington Stanley (A); Sat 28 Mar: Mansfield Town (A); Fri 03 Apr: Cheltenham Town (H); Mon 06 Apr: Oxford United (A); Sat 11 Apr: Hartlepool United (H); Tue 14 Apr: Morecambe (H); Sat 18 Apr: Shrewsbury Town (A); Sat 25 Apr: Newport County (H); Sat 02 May: Portsmouth (A)

Join The Vital Debate



Click here to join in the debate on the club forum.

Writer:Vital York
Date:Tuesday September 2 2014
Time: 11:36PM

Login to post a comment

Best of Vital Network

Vital Boxing - Selby Wants Frampton Next

Recent York City Articles

Minstermen travel in Trophy

Former winners York City have been handed an away draw in the FA Trophy third round next month.

York City Ladies Reserves 7 Redcar Town 2

Second-placed York City Ladies Reserves moved to within three points of the leaders following a 7-2 victory against Redcar Town at Haxby Road.

York City Futsal 5 Durham Futsal 4

National League North Division Two leaders York City Futsal scored a dramatic last-minute winner in a thrilling nine-goal spectacular with Durham at York Sports Centre.

Result: York City Futsal 5 Durham Futsal 4

Result from York City Futsal v Durham Futsal at York Sports Centre on Sunday afternoon (kick-off 2.45pm).

Archived Minstermen.net Articles

Minstermen.net articles from

Site Journalists

Winehouse
Editor email
Profile

Current Poll (see more polls)

Was Gary Mills right to re-sign Daniel Parslow?
Suggested By: Vital York City
Yes87%
No13%

League Table

# Team P W D L Pts. GD
1 Lincoln 26 17 4 5 55 29
2 Forest Green 28 15 8 5 53 24
3 Tranmere 27 16 5 6 53 16
4 Dag & Red 28 16 4 8 52 16
5 Dover Athletic 28 15 4 9 49 15
6 Barrow 26 12 10 4 46 16
7 Aldershot 28 13 6 9 45 8
8 Macclesfield 26 13 4 9 43 11
9 Gateshead 28 11 9 8 42 16
10 Chester 28 11 9 8 42 10
11 Boreham Wood 28 11 8 9 41 5
12 Eastleigh 27 10 10 7 40 7
13 Bromley 28 11 5 12 38 -6
14 Wrexham 29 10 8 11 38 -9
15 Sutton 27 10 5 12 35 -5
16 Solihull Moors 27 9 6 12 33 -7
17 Torquay 28 8 6 14 30 -9
18 Braintree 28 8 6 14 30 -17
19 Southport 28 8 6 14 30 -22
20 Woking 28 7 6 15 27 -13
21 Maidstone 28 7 5 16 26 -22
22 Guiseley 28 6 7 15 25 -13
23 North Ferriby 29 7 3 19 24 -29
24 York 28 4 10 14 22 -21
Vital Football Comment
Latest F1 News
Latest Vital Boxing News
Write for Vital Football

Recent York City Results (view all)

York City Fixtures (view all)

Jan 21 2017 3:00PM : Barrow (H)
Conference National
Jan 28 2017 3:00PM : Aldershot Town (a)
Conference National
Feb 4 2017 3:00PM : Macclesfield Town (a)
Conference National
Feb 11 2017 3:00PM : Maidstone United (H)
Conference National
Feb 18 2017 3:00PM : Boreham Wood (a)
Conference National
Feb 25 2017 3:00PM : Gateshead (H)
Conference National

Vital Members League Table

RankNamePoints
1.VitalYorkCity15
The Vital Football Members League